How I Got Here-A Teen Pregnancy Story

I have something to share…

I’m 16 and pregnant. Yep… I never thought I’d be here but I am. I thought I’d break the cycle but nope. All of you are probably thinking, “Great… another pregnant teen! Just what this world needs.” Well, I don’t blame you. I feel pretty ashamed of myself too.

In June I noticed things about my body that were different. At volleyball practice I’d lose my breath more easily, my stomach was no longer flat and my breasts seemed bigger. I’m a pretty healthy eater who hadn’t been eating healthy lately so I just thought that I was gaining weight because of that… I refused to believe anything else. However, I was getting scared that I was pregnant. It didn’t make sense for me to gain weight like that and I told my boyfriend I thought I was pregnant. He didn’t believe the thought… we were in denial.

One day I was shopping with my mom and she started seeing the changes too… she asked me if I was pregnant and I replied with, “No way.” She either believed me or maybe she was in denial too, one night she bought me a pregnancy test. The next morning I took it and it came back with Pregnant! That day felt like the worst day of my life. I was scared, worried, angry, sad. I couldn’t stop crying, I didn’t know what to do. Going through a pregnancy seemed impossible. I felt like I wanted to die.

A few days later I found out that I was about 22 and a half weeks pregnant. Therefore I had 3 options:

Abortion

Open Adoption

Keep the baby

I didn’t want an abortion because I felt that I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if I got one and I believed that I got pregnant for a reason. I believe that reason was to provide a family with a baby that can’t have one. That’s what I set out to do.

My summer has been filled with adoption appointments and doctor’s appointments. A lot of people in my family have been supportive of me and are helping me get through this rough time. I know that I am incapable to raise a baby at 17 and I want my teenage life… therefore I think open adoption is best, but that’s going to be really hard for me.

The baby is due October 11th, it’ll be a baby boy. I’m really scared for what the future holds but I’m trying to do the best I can. My boyfriend and I have been together for about 14 months, he chose to stick around. He wants to come to the adoption appointments and be involved in choosing the family that our child will grow up with.

Being pregnant in high school is no joke and it’s not fun. It’s hard to go through and nobody understands that. Girls already have enough to go through with being pregnant, they don’t need the bullying either. Just because a girl gets pregnant in high school doesn’t mean she’s a slut. I assure you, there’s plenty of girls that have sex with many guys in high school who don’t get pregnant.

Please, please, please don’t judge anyone until you know the story. You never know what someone is going through or what’s going on in their head. There’s no need to go out of your way to be cruel to someone. Keep your hurtful words to yourself, you never know what they might do to someone.

Leave a Reply

